Skip to content
Home » Check out the 31 new emoji released today.

Check out the 31 new emoji released today.

New Emoji

Emoji are so integral to online communication that it’s impossible to recall life without them. The Unicode Consortium screens applicants and updates the library annually, much like written language does. Unicode 15.0, with 31 new emoji, was approved by the Consortium in September. Google has also announced new emoji.

Version 15 of the Unicode Standard includes 4,489 new characters, including 20 new emoji. Why 31? 31 skin tone variations of the left and right pushing hands plus the black bird zero-width joiner (ZWJ) sequence (via Emojipedia).

  • A wing
  • A shaking face
  • Rightward pushing hand
  • Leftward pushing hand
  • Light blue heart
  • Pink heart
  • Grey heart
  • A jellyfish
  • A moose
  • A donkey
  • A goose
  • Ginger
  • Hyacinth
  • A pea pod
  • Folding hand fan
  • Hair pick
  • Maracas
  • Flute
  • A Khanda symbol
  • A wireless symbol
  • A blackbird

You can now use and as part of this group of new emoji.

New emoji set

If you want to use these emojis right away, you need to know a few things first. Whether and when you can use these emojis will depend on a number of things. For example, these emojis haven’t been added to Android yet, but they should be there by the beginning of next year. You can get the emoji on your Android device, but you can only use them in places that support them.

Emojipedia says that Unicode 16.0, the next set of emojis, won’t come out until 2023 or 2024. This means that the next set of emojis won’t be on your device until then.

Read More:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *